How to Start a Business in North Carolina (Step by Step Guide)

Starting Business in North CarolinaAre you thinking about starting your own business in North Carolina? If so, then you have come to the right place!

On this page, you can find step by step DIY instructions on how to incorporate your business in North Carolina. From selecting the business entity type to forms to be filled, we have covered it all.

Let’s get Started

The first step in setting up your business is to select the business structure.

Broadly there are 4 types of business entities that can be registered:

  1. Limited Liability Company (Most Popular)
  2. Corporation
  3. Sole Proprietorship
  4. Partnership

Each business structure differs on the basis of taxation, asset liability and estate planning. We have written a detailed tutorial on how to choose a business entity type for your business here.

Below we have given a broad outline of the steps involved in registering an LLC or Corporation in North Carolina.

Clicking on each step, opens up a detailed guide on how to complete it.

How to Start an LLC in North Carolina

Agency ResponsibleNorth Carolina Department of the Secretary of State – Corporations Division
Form(s) to be filledArticles of Organization (Form L-01)
ModeMail, in-person, or Online
Name ReservationOptional, Fee $30 (Mail)
Filing Fee$125 + Expedite fee $100-$200 (optional)
Time1 week (Option to expedite)
Law§ 57D-2-20


Summary:

  1. Choose business name
  2. File for Business name reservation (Optional)
  3. Select a Registered Agent
  4. Fill Articles of Organization (Form L-01)
  5. Prepare an Operating Agreement
  6. Get an EIN Number (IRS Form SS-4)
  7. Obtain relevant licenses and permits
  8. Obtain Tax ID number
  9. File Annual Report (Ongoing)

How to Start a Corporation in North Carolina

Agency ResponsibleNorth Carolina Department of the Secretary of State – Corporations Division
Form(s) to be filledArticles of Incorporation (Form B-01)
ModeMail, in-person, or Online
Name ReservationOptional, Fee $30 (Mail)
Filing Fee$125 + Expedite fee $100-$200 (optional)
Time1 week (Option to expedite)
LawNorth Carolina Code – §55-2-02

Summary:

  1. Search for a Business Name
  2. File for Business Name Reservation (Optional)
  3. Select Registered Agent
  4. File Articles of Incorporation (Form B-01)
  5. Create Bylaws
  6. Get EIN Number
  7. Obtain Tax ID number and business license
  8. File Annual Report



References:

Last fact-checked on 25/07/2018